Publication Guide

About ZIP.ch and the edition form for your directory listings

ZIP.ch is the official Swiss directory for the simple and free management of the online presence for brands, companies and individuals who are looking to increase their popularity and transform their listings into real local showcases.

The edition form is the publication toolbox for the value-added content that you want to highlight, accessible from your ‘My Account’ customer area. Through this you can manage the additional information that you want to share with the directory users for all your listings.

Illustration 1

The edition form includes the following features:

  • The addition of other contacts to the basic data (people, e-mail addresses, web addresses and telephone / fax numbers)
  • The selection of categories and the business sector
  • The integration of social networks and messaging applications such as Skype, Messenger, Viber, WhatsApp, Snapchat, etc.
  • The addition of text, illustrations and videos
  • The display of the opening hours of your establishment, your current promotions and the payment methods that are available to your customers

It also offers access to Premium offers for those looking for optimal and professional visibility, in short... a true advertising board in the ZIP.ch directory.


Regulated data and enriched content

The basic data available in the ZIP.ch directory is provided by Swisscom Directories AG. This generally includes your last name, first name, address and occupation. An e-mail address, telephone number, fax number or second person may also be included through your Swiss telecommunications supplier, provided that you shared this information during your initial registration with the competent authority.

The basic data is regulated by law and cannot be changed via our edition form. For more information see our online help and our Legal Notice.

The enriched content contains elements pertaining to your listing which you add to the basic data and publish in the ZIP.ch directory. This will be the focus of our attention throughout the topics covered in this publication guide.


Claim your listing

Confirmation is a necessary step in authenticating your listing on ZIP.ch and to accessing the full functionality of the edition form, once the process has been completed. You will find more information about the entry of your account as well as the different methods of confirmation in our online help. Note that it is possible to confirm multiple listings through a single account.

Illustration 3 mod



Getting started with the edition form

Once you have completed the confirmation, your listing appears on the ‘My listings’ tab of your account. Click the ‘Edit’ button for the entry you wish to modify:  


Illustration 2

You can also click on the ‘Claim and complete this listing for free’ button, available in the details of your listing displayed during a search.

From here you can begin to enrich your listing with items of your choosing: photo gallery, video, description of your establishment, social networks...; in short, everything is provided for you to express yourself as you much as you want.

Note: The ‘Claim and complete this listing for free’ button only appears until you have claimed it. See our FAQs for more information.

The edition form is divided into several areas specific to the content you want to manage. The first section includes:

  1. Your last name, first name and your profession or company name (in principle, the constituent elements of your basic data, which cannot be changed via the edition form)
  2. Your business activity allowing the user to find your listing via targeted search (not to be confused with the categories that specify the search)
  3. A display of the detail of your listing displayed during a search

Illustration 5

Your current contacts:

This section consists of your contacts included in your basic data (fixed and cannot be changed via the edition form):

Illustration 6

Add your Website or Blog

Insert the address of your website in this field, as shown below:

Illustration 7

The categories

A user searching for an establishment or a service often uses categories or business sectors with the search engine in order to target the search. This is where these come in. They are the extensible arm of the business sector you defined in the first section of the edition form. Define the categories you think best describe your business activity. Note that Premium subscribers can add more categories. For more information about our subscriptions, click here.

Please note that it is possible to suggest categories that are not already included in the available list.

The one or more selected categories will then appear in the introduction section of your listing details during a search.

Description of your activities

Enter the text you see fit to say more about yourself and your business. The entry description plays a complementary role in the positioning during a search, in addition to the categories and the Top Position option that you can add. Make sure the content of your description is relevant!

Description in english

Tip: By selecting the section of text you want to format, you can change its appearance (from left to right) so that it appears: 

  • in bold

  • in italics
  • underlined
  • in a list
  • as a title
  • or as a quotation

Add your social networks

Social networks are the purveyor of popularity and commitment par excellence and can propel you to the front of the stage. Select the networks on which you are active and get closer to your audience. To do this, open a new tab in your browser and go to the relevant social network. Then copy your profile name from immediately after the ‘/’ (in the navigation URL) and paste it into the corresponding part of your listing form.

To integrate LinkedIn, follow these steps:

Individual public profile

  • Open a new tab in your browser

  • Go to your LinkedIn profile.

  • Select the ‘Profile’ tab

  • Copy the last element of the URL displayed below your profile picture as shown below:

EN - Illustration all

  • Paste the element with the ‘pub/’ or ‘in/’ in the corresponding area 

  • Save your addition by clicking on ‘Save’

Note that only the administrators of a LinkedIn corporate page can access their custom URL. Find out more about this at www.linkedIn.com/assistance


Top Position

The Top Position option is available as a monthly subscription. It allows you to have your listing placed among the first search results according to location, business sectors, or by categories for example, throughout that period.

Illustration 10

Tip: By adding more categories to your listing, you increase your performance for several search scenarios. In other words, the more categories you add to your listing, the more your Top Position option scope is expanded, pushing your listing to one of the best place in the search results.

You can also positively influence the position of your listing within the lead group by carefully choosing the words used in your description.   


Enhanced Listing - better visibility in search results  

The Enhanced Listing feature is included with the Premium Business subscription. It places the illustration (visible in your listing details during a search) directly in the list of search results. This is a recommended addition to the Top Position option, guaranteeing ideal differentiation.

The example below perfectly illustrates the Enhanced Listing principle. Here the user enters two categories for their search (‘garage’ and ‘Lausanne’):

Illustration 11


Security and moderation


At ZIP.ch, we strongly believe we can go further by establishing strong and constructive relationships with others.

This platform has been designed to enhance the visibility of your business or your establishment. It is therefore important for us to maintain a positive and secure environment for everyone. We therefore ask you to follow some simple rules of good conduct, which are summarized below:

Description: present yourself while making sure to keep a pleasant, courteous and informative tone to the reader. Avoid rudeness and tones that are negative, harmful, obscene, etc. They will not benefit you!

Images: select images that add value to you. No images that are pornographic, obscene, violent, racist, political, etc. will be tolerated in the ZIP.ch directory.

Video: the videos you choose to share in the ZIP.ch directory come from external sources such as YouTube, Vimeo, etc. A pre-moderation process has therefore already been carried out upstream by these content providers listed above.

ZIP.ch plays particular attention to the contents published in the directory. Help us keep this platform pleasant for all and report to us any content contrary to these rules, those of the Legal Notice or those of netiquette.

Legal considerations:

  • Please post only the information you have the right to publish.
  • The ZIP.ch name and trademark and all associated elements are the exclusive property of ZIP.ch AG. Without the prior written consent of ZIP.ch AG, you are not authorized to use the ZIP.ch trademark or any associated elements.
  • ZIP.ch is not responsible for the content disseminated by users of the directory (copyright infringement, illegal content, encouragement of illegal practices, links to illegal sites, file sharing sites, etc.).
  • Please note that the publications and comments posted in the ZIP.ch directory do not reflect the opinion of ZIP.ch AG or of its employees and business partners.
  • By using ZIP.ch, you also agree to respect the Legal Conditions and the Legal Notice published on the ZIP.ch portal.
  • ZIP.ch AG will make the final decision in case of disputes or requests for clarification on any of the regulations.
  • You can consult our Legal Notice and our Terms and Conditions for more information on this subject.


How does positioning on ZIP.ch work?

The next two sections summarize the main strategy to help the positioning of your listing in a list of search results. Read the following carefully!

Are you ready? Right, let's go!

The search engine integrated into the ZIP.ch directory allows a targeted local search. It suggests results according to the terms entered by the user for the specified address (or location). It evaluates the relevance of the possible results, selects them and decides the order in which they appear, in particular on the basis of semantic criteria. If it does not find any data relevant to the search, it then establishes a list of results that best corresponds to the words entered in the search field, according to a specific process (in technical jargon this is known as a ‘fuzzy search’).

In order to influence the positioning of your listing to your advantage, the ZIP.ch platform offers you a range of powerful and complementary tools:

  • The business sector

  • The categories

  • The text (description) displayed in your listing

  • The Top Position (paid option)

  • The Enhanced Listing (Premium Business)

It is the tactical combination of these features that will significantly contribute to the placement of your listing in the search results, and thus boost your visibility and attractiveness to directory users.


How do you better position yourself?

First, make sure your listing is in the correct business sector and includes the best categories. Then write your text, taking care to include the words and expressions that best describe your main activity and your strengths as often as possible, while making sure it flows nicely for the reader.

The extension of characters and category included in your listing strongly reinforces your chances of being selected by the search engine according to the terms entered by the user - and therefore to appearing in a good position in the list of displayed results.

The Top Position option is an amplifier of the positioning parameters described above since it guarantees an optimal position in the search results corresponding to the terms entered by the user. As you will have gathered, it is indeed a combination of the influencing factors mentioned here that will propel you up the list of the most viewed entries in the ZIP.ch directory - in a given search scenario.

And Hugo, our Senior Software Developer concludes: ‘directories and their search engine are a real technological marvel. We used all our resources to achieve this little miracle in such a short time. The result is very encouraging and we will not stop there!’

Guide de publication

A propos de ZIP.ch et du formulaire d’edition de votre inscription

ZIP.ch est l’annuaire officiel suisse permettant de gérer simplement et gratuitement la présence en ligne des marques, entreprises, et particuliers qui souhaitent renforcer leur popularité et transformer leurs inscriptions en véritables vitrines locales.

Le formulaire d’édition est la caisse à outils de publication pour les contenus à valeur ajoutée que vous souhaitez mettre en avant, accessible depuis votre espace client « Mon Compte ». Grâce à lui, vous pouvez gérer les informations additionnelles que vous partagez avec les utilisateurs de l'annuaire, et ce pour l’ensemble des inscriptions dont vous disposez.

Illustration 1

Le formulaire d’édition comprend les fonctionnalités suivantes:

  • L’ajout de contacts complémentaires aux données de base (personnes, adresses e-mails, adresses web et numéros de téléphone/fax)
  • La sélection des rubriques et du secteur d’activité
  • L’intégration des réseaux sociaux et des applications de messagerie telles que Skype, Messenger, Viber, WhatsApp, Snapchat, etc.
  • L’ajout de texte, d’illustrations et de vidéos
  • L’affichage des heures d’ouverture de votre établissement, de vos promotions en cours et des méthodes de paiement que vous offrez à vos clients

Il propose également l’accès aux offres Premium pour celles et ceux d’entre vous qui souhaitent une visibilité optimale et professionnalisée, en bref... une véritable enseigne publicitaire dans l’annuaire ZIP.ch.


Données de base et contenus enrichis

Les données de base disponibles dans l’annuaire de ZIP.ch sont transmises par Swisscom Directories SA. Elles comprennent le plus souvent votre nom, votre prénom, votre domicile et votre profession. Une adresse e-mail, un numéro de téléphone, un fax, une deuxième personne peuvent également y figurer, pour autant que vous ayez partagé ces informations lors de votre inscription initiale auprès de l’autorité compétente, par le biais de votre fournisseur suisse de télécommunication.

Les données de base sont régulées par la loi et ne sont pas modifiables via notre formulaire d’édition. Pour plus d’information à ce sujet, consultez nos FAQs et nos Mentions Légales.

Les contenus enrichis sont, quant à eux, les éléments constitutifs de votre inscription que vous ajoutez aux données de base et que vous publiez sur l’annuaire ZIP.ch. Ce sont eux qui feront l’objet de notre attention tout au long des thèmes abordés dans ce guide de publication.


Revendication de votre inscription

La revendication est une étape nécessaire qui permet d’authentifier votre inscription sur ZIP.ch et d’accéder, une fois le processus effectué, à l’ensemble des fonctionnalités du formulaire d’édition. Vous trouverez plus d’information concernant les étapes d’enregistrement à votre compte ainsi que les différentes méthodes de revendication dans nos FAQ. Notez qu’il est tout à fait possible de revendiquer plusieurs inscriptions avec un seul compte.

Illustration 2


Prise en main du formulaire d'édition

Une fois l’étape de revendication terminée, votre inscription apparaît sous l’onglet « Mes Inscriptions » de votre compte. Cliquez sur le bouton « Editer » de l’inscription souhaitée:  

Illustration 3

Vous pouvez également cliquer sur le bouton « Revendiquez et complétez gratuitement cette inscription », disponible dans le détail de votre inscription affiché lors d’une recherche.

C’est ici que vous pouvez commencer à enrichir votre inscription avec les éléments de votre choix: galerie photo, vidéo, description de votre établissement, réseaux sociaux; bref, tout y est pour donner un maximum de liberté à vos besoins.  

Remarque: le bouton « Revendiquez et complétez gratuitement cette inscription » n’apparaît que lorsque celle-ci n’est pas encore revendiquée. Consultez nos FAQs pour plus d’info à ce sujet.

Le formulaire d’édition se décompose en plusieurs zones propres au contenu que vous souhaitez gérer.

La première section

  • Votre domaine d’activité permettant à l’utilisateur de retrouver votre inscription par recherche ciblée (à distinguer des rubriques qui précisent la recherche)
  • Une illustration visible sur le détail de votre inscription affiché lors d’une recherche

Illustration 5

Vos contacts actuels

Cette section comprend vos contacts inclus à vos données de base (figées et non modifiables via le formulaire d’édition):

Illustration 6

Ajoutez votre site Web ou votre Blog

Insérez ici l’adresse de votre site web dans le champ libre comme indiqué ci-dessous.

Illustration 7

Les rubriques

L’utilisateur à la recherche d’un établissement ou d’un service utilise fréquemment des rubriques ou des secteurs d’activité qu’il suggère au moteur de recherche afin de cibler sa recherche. C’est ici que celles-ci entrent en jeu. Elles sont le bras extensible du secteur d’activité que vous avez défini dans la première section du formulaire d’édition. Définissez votre rubrique qui, selon vous, précise le mieux votre domaine d’activité. Notez qu’il est possible d’ajouter davantage de rubriques pour les abonnés Premium. Pour plus d’information concernant nos abonnements, cliquez ici.

Notez qu’il est tout à fait possible de nous suggérer des rubriques qui ne figurent pas dans la liste déjà disponible au moyen du formulaire de contact.

La ou les rubriques sélectionnées s’affichent ensuite dans les détails de votre inscription lors d’une recherche, sous la section d’introduction.

Description

Saisissez le texte de votre choix et dites-en plus sur vous et votre activité. La description de l'inscription joue un rôle complémentaire dans le positionnement de celle-ci lors d’une recherche, en plus des rubriques et de l’option Top Position que vous pouvez ajouter. Soyez donc attentif à la pertinence du contenu rédactionnel de votre description!

Description en français


Astuce: en sélectionnant la partie souhaitée du texte à formater, vous pouvez modifier son affichage (de gauche à droite): 

  • en gras
  • en italique
  • en soulignement
  • en liste
  • en titre
  • ou en citation.

Ajouter vos réseaux sociaux

Les réseaux sociaux sont le vecteur de popularité et d’engagement par excellence et permettent de vous propulser sur le devant de la scène. Sélectionnez les réseaux sur lesquels vous êtes actifs et rapprochez-vous de votre public. Pour ce faire, ouvrez un nouvel onglet dans votre navigateur et rendez-vous sur le réseau social de votre choix. Copiez ensuite votre nom de profil qui se trouve juste après le « / » (dans l'URL de navigation) et collez-le dans le module correspondant du formulaire d'édition de votre inscription.

Pour intégrer LinkedIn, suivez les étapes suivantes:

Profil public individuel

  • Ouvrez un nouvel onglet dans votre navigateur
  • Rendez-vous sur votre profil LinkedIn
  • Sélectionnez l’onglet « Profil »
  • Copiez le dernier élément de l’URL affichée sous la photo de votre profil comme indiqué ci-dessous:

Illustration 9

  • Collez l’élément avec le «pub/» ou «in/» de l'URL dans le module correspondant du formulaire d’édition de votre inscription
  • Sauvegardez votre ajout en cliquant sur «Enregistrer»


Notez que seul l'administrateur d’une page entreprise LinkedIn peut accéder à son URL personnalisée.  Plus d’info à ce sujet sur www.linkedIn.com/assistance


Top Position

L’option Top Position est disponible sous forme d’abonnement mensuel. Elle permet de placer votre inscription parmi les premiers résultats de recherche par localité, secteurs d’activité, ou par rubrique par exemple, durant toute sa période de validité.

Illustration 10

Astuce: En ajoutant plus de rubriques à votre inscription, vous augmentez ainsi la performance de votre référencement sur plusieurs scénarios de recherche. En d’autres termes, plus vous insérez de rubriques à votre inscription, plus votre option Top Position élargit son champ d’application et vous propulse parmi les inscriptions les mieux placées dans les résultats d’une recherche.

Vous pouvez également influencer positivement la position de votre inscription au sein du groupe de tête en choisissant soigneusement les mots utilisés dans [votre description].   


Listing amélioré – plus de visibilité dans les résultats de recherche  

Le Listing amélioré est une fonctionnalité incluse à l’abonnement Premium Business. Il place l’illustration (visible dans le détail de votre inscription lors d’une recherche) directement dans la liste des résultats de recherche. C’est un complément recommandé à l’option Top Position qui garantit ainsi un démarquage idéal.

L’exemple ci-dessous illustre parfaitement le principe du Listing amélioré. Ici, deux rubriques sont suggérées par l’utilisateur dans sa recherche (« garage » et « Lausanne »):

Illustration 9


Sécurité et modération

Chez ZIP.ch, nous sommes convaincus que nous pouvons aller plus loin en établissant des relations fortes  et constructives avec les autres.

Cette plateforme a été conçue pour renforcer la visibilité de vos activités ou de votre propre établissement. Il est donc important pour nous de maintenir un environnement positif et sécurisé pour chacun. C'est pourquoi nous vous demandons de suivre quelques règles simples de bonne conduite, que vous trouverez résumées ci-dessous:

Description: mettez-vous en avant tout en prenant soin de garder un ton agréable, courtois et informatif au lecteur. Evitez les grossièretés et un ton négatif, délétère, obscène, etc. Ils ne vous apportent aucun profit!

Images: sélectionnez les images qui vous valorisent. Aucune image à caractère pornographique, obscène, violente, raciste, politique, etc. ne sera tolérée dans l’annuaire ZIP.ch.

Vidéo: les vidéos que vous choisissez de partager sur l’annuaire ZIP.ch proviennent toutes de sources externes telles que Youtube, Vimeo, etc. Un processus de pré-modération est donc déjà effectué en amont par les fournisseurs de contenus énumérés plus haut. 

ZIP.ch apporte une attention toute particulière auprès des contenus publiés dans l’annuaire. Aidez-nous à maintenir cette plateforme agréable à tous et signalez-nous tout contenu contraire à ces règles, à celles des Mentions Légales ou celles de la netiquette.

Aspects juridiques:

  • Veuillez poster uniquement des informations que vous avez le droit de publier.
  • Le nom et la marque ZIP.ch ainsi que tous les éléments associés relèvent de la propriété intellectuelle exclusive de ZIP.ch SA. Sans l'accord écrit préalable de ZIP.ch SA, vous n'êtes pas autorisé à utiliser la marque ZIP.ch ni aucun élément associé.
  • ZIP.ch n'est pas responsable des contenus diffusés par les utilisateurs de l’annuaire (violation du droit d'auteur, contenu illégal, encouragement de pratiques illégales, liens vers des sites illégaux tels que les sites de partage de fichiers, etc...).
  • Veuillez noter que les publications et les commentaires diffusés dans l’annuaire ZIP.ch ne reflètent pas nécessairement l'opinion de ZIP.ch SA ou de ses employés et partenaires commerciaux.
  • En utilisant ZIP.ch, vous vous engagez également à respecter les Mentions Légales et les Conditions Générales d’utilisation énoncées sur le portail ZIP.ch.
  • ZIP.ch SA prendra la décision finale en cas de contestations ou de demandes de clarification sur l'une des règles.


Le positionnement sur ZIP.ch, comment ca marche?

Les deux prochaines sections résument l’essentiel de la stratégie à adopter pour favoriser le positionnement de votre inscription dans une liste de résultat de recherche. Lisez donc attentivement ce qui suit!

Vous êtes prêts? Alors allons-y!

Le moteur de recherche intégré à l’annuaire de ZIP.ch permet une recherche ciblée et locale. Il suggère des résultats selon les termes saisis par l’utilisateur pour l’adresse (ou la localité) spécifiée. Il évalue la pertinence des résultats possibles, les sélectionne et décide de l’ordre dans lequel ils apparaissent, notamment sur la base de critères sémantiques. S’il ne trouve aucune donnée applicables à la recherche, il établit alors une liste de résultats correspondant le mieux aux mots saisis dans son champ de recherche, selon un procédé spécifique (appelé « fuzzy search » dans le jargon technique).

Afin d’influencer en votre faveur le positionnement de votre inscription, la plateforme ZIP.ch vous offre une gamme d’outils puissants et complémentaires les uns des autres:

  • Le secteur d’activité
  • Les rubriques
  • Le texte (description) affiché dans votre inscription
  • La fonctionnalité Top Position (option facultative payante)
  • Le Listing amélioré (inclus à l'offre Premium Business)

C’est la combinaison tactique de ces fonctionnalités qui va sensiblement contribuer à la place de votre inscription dans la liste des résultats de recherche, et donc renforcer votre visibilité et votre attractivité auprès des utilisateurs de l’annuaire.


Comment faire pour mieux se positionner?

Tout d’abord, assurez-vous que votre inscription figure dans le bon secteur d’activité et dispose de la rubrique adéquate. Rédigez ensuite un texte en prenant soin d’y intégrer aussi souvent que possible les mots et expressions qui décrivent le mieux votre cœur d’activité et vos atouts, tout en gardant une fluidité de lecture agréable aux yeux du lecteur.

L’ajout de plusieurs caractères en plus des rubriques incluses à votre inscription renforce, de manière significative, vos chances d’être sélectionnés par le moteur de recherche en fonction des termes saisis par l’utilisateur - et donc de figurer en bonne place dans la liste des résultats affichés.

L’option Top Position est, quant à elle, le relais amplificateur des paramètres de positionnement décrits plus haut puisqu’elle garantit une position optimale dans les résultats affichés correspondants aux termes saisis par l’utilisateur. Vous l’aurez compris, c’est bien la conjugaison de tous les facteurs d’influence précités ici qui vous propulsera parmi les inscriptions les plus consultées de l’annuaire ZIP.ch - dans un scénario donné de recherche.

Et Cédric, notre Software Developper de conclure: « les annuaires et leur moteur de recherche sont un véritable défi technologique à relever. Nous avons mobilisé toutes nos ressources pour parvenir à ce véritable petit miracle en si peu de temps. Le résultat obtenu est très encourageant et nous n’allons pas nous arrêter là ! »