Advertising
Advertising
Genève

Geneva

Frequently hailed as one of the most pleasant cities to visit, Geneva is full of qualities. Huddled along Lake Geneva and with the Alps a few kilometres away, Geneva was home to many historical figures such as Henri Dunant, founder of the Red Cross, John Calvin, supporter of the Reform who preached hundreds of times at Saint-Pierre Cathedral. Let’s not forget the philosopher Jean-Jacques Rousseau for a small island bears his name at the heart of the city: Ile Rousseau. 

Today, Geneva is an absolutely cosmopolitan city that houses the biggest international organisations in the world from the United Nations to the World Health Organisation, as well as the CERN – the European Centre for Nuclear Research. 

It is the second most populated city of Switzerland and a crucial financial hub. Calvin’s city is reputed for its luxury stores and equally luxurious homes but it is also well provided with culture thanks to its numerous museums, theatres and an impeccably charming old town. 

Photo credits : ©Genève Tourisme

Advertising

Restaurant

Nightlife

Advertising
Advertising
Advertising
Advertising

Shopping

Escape

Local guide

Genève

Genève

Fréquemment citée au palmarès des villes les plus agréables, Genève possède de nombreux atouts. Au bord du lac Léman et à quelques kilomètres des Alpes, elle a abrité des personnalités dont le nom s’inscrit encore dans l’Histoire: Henri Dunant, fondateur de la Croix-Rouge, Jean Calvin, soutien de la Réforme qui prêcha des centaines de fois à la Cathédrale Saint-Pierre, ou encore le philosophe Jean-Jacques Rousseau dont une île de la ville a été renommée à son nom en hommage. 

Aujourd’hui, Genève est une ville résolument cosmopolite qui accueille le plus grand nombre d’organisations internationales au monde, comme les Nations Unies, l’Organisation mondiale de la santé (Oms) ou le Centre européen de recherche nucléaire (Cern). 

Seconde ville la plus peuplée de Suisse et place financière incontournable, la Cité de Calvin est réputée pour ses magasins et ses hébergements de luxe, mais fait toutefois la part belle à la culture avec de nombreux musées, théâtres et une vieille ville au charme intact.

Crédits photos : ©Genève Tourisme

Restaurant

Sortie

Shopping

Évasion

Guide local