Advertising
Advertising
Advertising
Advertising
Lausanne

Lausanne

In the heart of the French-speaking part of Switzerland, the city of Lausanne is located on a downwards hill and expands across many smaller hills on the Swiss plain up until the north banks of Lake Geneva. With its breathtaking views of the Alps and its unique location on the lake, the city is well reputed for those who love art and nightlife. 

Headquarter of the board of the International Olympic Committee, the city also provides lots of sport centres and equipment as well as sports paths along the lake banks. The city is also pioneering in eco friendly public transportation. It was the first city in Switzerland to put in place free bikes service and the only one to have an underground metro station. 

On the cultural scene, Lausanne stands out with its diverse museums, showrooms and the countless amounts of events that happen there during the year, such as the LUFF (Lausanne Underground Film and Music Festival) or the Comptoir Suisse event. 

Lausanne holds beautiful historic sites such as the Notre-Dame Cathedral from the 12th century, its castles and of course, its 310 fountains spread across the city. 

Photos credit: ©Swiss Images

Advertising

Restaurant

Nightlife

Advertising
Advertising
Advertising
Advertising

Shopping

Escape

Local guide

Lausanne

Lausanne

Au cœur de la Suisse romande, la ville de Lausanne, située sur une pente, s’étend des collines du plateau suisse jusqu’à la rive nord du lac Léman. Avec sa superbe vue sur les Alpes et sa situation exceptionnelle au bord du lac, la ville jouit en plus d’une excellente réputation auprès des amateurs d’arts et des noctambules. 

Siège du Comité international olympique, la ville compte également de nombreux équipements sportifs et parcours aménagés sur ses quais et a su exploiter au mieux le développement des moyens de locomotions durables. Elle est la première ville suisse à disposer de vélos en libre-service et la seule à posséder un métro. 

Sur le plan culturel, la cité se démarque par la grande diversité de ses musées, de ses salles de spectacles, et des nombreux événements qui s’y déroulent chaque année, comme le LUFF (Lausanne underground film and music festival) ou le Comptoir Suisse. 

De son histoire, Lausanne conserve quelques beaux édifices à l’image de la cathédrale Notre-Dame du XIIe siècle, de ses châteaux et bien sûr, de ses 310 fontaines disséminées à travers la ville dont la plus emblématique est située place de la Palud.

Découvrez l'annuaire du canton de Vaud


Crédit photos: ©Swiss Images

Restaurant

Sortie

Shopping

Évasion

Guide local